Cooking Cheap and Staying Sane

May 5, 2010

Excited about peas

Filed under: Uncategorized — luna1968 @ 3:46 pm

Spring has passed, unusually cool for Southern Georgia, and with it has gone planting and classwork.  All the seeds have magically transformed into strong foot tall plants, which seem to climb higher overnight.  I don’t think I’ll ever be free of the amazement of it all.

Today I got my first taste of Spring peas.  I didn’t think life could get better after my first taste of homegrown broccoli, but I was terribly wrong.  I don’t recall ever having fresh peas, except maybe on the salad bar at Ruby Tuesday’s.  Pretty much, I don’t recall having anything fresh out of the garden escaping a few tomatoes and cucumbers.  Fresh peas taste exactly like spring.  Finding the ripe pods on my pea plants after a heavy rain yesterday, I ran back inside to show my discovery to my husband.  He was as amazed as I was.  He’s not a fan of peas.  But he was a good sport and ate one anyway.

Today I set out, bowl in hand, to gather up some peas, lettuce greens, green onions and baby radishes.  I added some chopped apples and ham (from last nights dinner,) and poured on a little pepper, oil and vinegar (some gourmet Italian kind I had picked up from the dented can store – I love when I find something fancy for cheap.) It was the best lunch I’ve had in a long time.  So good that of course I had to get right on the computer and brag about it.

Salad before prepping

I now have the impression that everyone should have their own garden.  There’s no reason not too.  Oh, it’s hard work… I hate the sun… I’m too busy… Nope!  These are all pathetic excuses.  I have tasted the fresh picked green pea, and I am certain that no one should go through life without this experience.

salad post prepping

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.